Home » ATHLETICS » Africa’s Elite Cycling Road Tourney Ends

Africa’s Elite Cycling Road Tourney Ends

Written By: SD Reporter

The Africa Continental Road Championship in Luxor, Egypt has come to an end Sunday, with the Elite Men Road Race.

The Senior Boys covered a distance of 163.6 km as Smit Williem of South Africa emerged winner in 3.45.54 secs.

Abraham Meron of Eritrea and Galdoune Amin of Morocco finished second and third.

In the Elite Women’s Road race held Saturday, Halbwachs Aurelia from Mauritius beat her competitors to win her second Gold medal in 2. 47.54 secs after racing a distance of 99.2 kilometres.

Le Court Kimberly also from Mauritius and South Africa’s Roux Charlene were second and third.

After the about one week competition Team Nigeria ended their second appearance at the biggest cycling festival in the Continent with just a Bronze medal won by Jacinta Okorie in the Junior Girls Individual Time Trial.

The team led by National Coach Miebaka Aggo is expected to return on Tuesday, 21st February, 2017.

Twenty-four countries competed in the annual Championship which had Ghana,Cote d’ivore, Burundi, Ethiopia, Seychelles among others.


Elite women (99.6km.) Road-race:

1st. HALBWACHS Aurelia 2.47.54.

2nd. Le court kimberly – Mauritius

3rd. Roux Charlene.     – S/Africa

4th. Ebtisam Z. Ahmed – Egypt

5th. Beyene Tsega.       – Ethiopia

11th Grikpa Tombrapa. – Nigeria

15th Odiase Glory.         – Nigeria

19th Rita oveh Ifeakam. – Nigeria

Elite men Road-Race (163.6km.)

SMIT Williem 3.45.54 – Mauritius

2nd. Abraham Meron.   – Eritrea

3rd.   Galdoune A.Amin. – Morocco

4th. Buru Temesgen.     – Ethiopia

5th. Hailu Yohatan.       – Eritrea

30th Innocent Emma.     – Nigeria

40th Preye John.             – Nigeria

59th Ajibade Qodiri.       – Nigeria

61st Effiok Eyo.       ….   – Nigeria


MALE – 43km.

1st MERON Teshome – Eritrea- 0.53.16.

2nd DEBOD Stefan – S/Africa – 0.53.42.

3rd AWET Habtom – Eritrea – 0.54.05

4th SMIT Williem – S/Africa -0.54.24

5th NDAYISENGA -Rwanda- 0.56.08

18th INNOCENT E.-Nigeria- 1.02.00

19th EFFIOK Eyo – Nigeria – 1.03.12


1st. HALBWACHS -Maurice-0.42.40

2nd. MOSSANA – Eritrea – 0.43.00

3rd. VENTER J. -S/Africa-0.43.07

4th. EBTISSAM – Egypt – 0.43.14

5th. WAHAZIT – Eritrea – 0.43.41

11th. TOMBRAPA-Nigeria-0.47.24

13th. GLORY O. – Nigeria -0.50.57

Sharing is caring!

Check Also

Asaba 2018 CAA: Zenith Bank Emerges Official Sponsor

Nigeria’s leading commercial bank, Zenith Bank Plc is now the official sponsor of the Asaba ...