Home » TENNIS » NCC Tennis League Playoff to Start Thursday in Lagos

NCC Tennis League Playoff to Start Thursday in Lagos

Written By: SD Reporter

The 2017 NCC Tennis League will hit-off Thursday at the National Stadium, Surulere with a playoff involving three teams vying to take the 12th spot in the main event. The playoffs will last three days.

The three teams are Team Anambra (Onitsha), Team Oluyole (Ibadan) and Team Police College (Ikeja). These teams dropped into the playoff event based on their collective team ranking as the Tennis League has a cap of 12 teams.

According to the International Tennis Academy, organisers of the league, the matches will be reduced to five matches to enable each tie to finish in one day. The matches to decide each tie are: two men’s singles, one ladies’ singles, one men’s doubles and one mixed doubles.

“We are expecting some very exciting matches as the teams are featuring some very good national and intermediate players.” A statement from the ITA said.

The NCC Tennis League is the first of its kind in Africa and is offering a consolidated prize money of N23 million this year.

The main event will start next weekend with an opening match between starstudded Team Civil Defence featuring Abdulmumuni Babalola, Clifford Enosoregbe and Christie Agugbom   and newcomers Team Muller which has CBN Senior Championship finalist Joseph Imeh, Emma Idoko and Ronke Akingbade on their list.


Sharing is caring!

Check Also

Djokovic Clinches Wimbledon 2018 Trophy

Serbian tennis ace, Novak Djokovic earned his first Grand Slam title in more than two ...