Home » ATHLETICS » Team CCSF Return From Taekwondo Open With Medals

Team CCSF Return From Taekwondo Open With Medals

Written By: SD Reporter

Two athletes Elizabeth Anyanacho and Peter Itiku from Chika Chukwumerije Sports Foundation, CCSF have returned back to Nigeria after they took part in the annual international Taekwondo Open in far away Dakar, Senegal.

While Anyanacho who competed in the -67kg category defeated all her opponents including athlete from host country and won gold medal, Itiku put up spirited performance to win bronze in the -80kg.

Giving account of how they fared at the competition being the second tournament both athletes have so far taken part outside Nigeria this year, their handler Chika Chukwumerije noted that beside winning medals at the highly competitive stages, where fighters from United States, Belgium, Italy among other converged, the Nigerian duo surely gave good account of themselves.

Chukwumerije further remarked; “The only two athletes that went from Nigeria hit their target in Dakar. This is actually their third competitive championship since I started training them. First was when they competed at Accra in January then the CCSF Prix series weeks back, before they went to Dakar. Its amazing the kind of result they have posted.

“Apart from the medals which they won after competing against athletes from United states, Italy, Senegal, Mali and others, our athletes did very well. Judging from their performance so far, I’m quite sure that the athletes we have can compete favourably and win nothing less than three medal at the next African Games.

“I wish we have a lot more support, we would have won more medals. In no long distant time, these athletes will start attending World Taekwondo Federation, WTF-sanctioned tournament. By then, they would have become black belt holders.”

The Taekwondo which held between March 17 and 19 witnessed no fewer than 340 athletes that took part from 20 various countries including USA, France, Italy, Cote D’Ivoire, Belgium, Morocco, India, Yemen, Cameroun, Ghana, Mali, Niger Republic, Cape Verde, Guinea, Guadeloupe, Angola, Central African Republic, Burkina Faso and host country, Senegal.

The Nigerian delegation was led by two-time African champion Elizabeth Binga.

Sharing is caring!

Check Also

CAA Asaba 2018: South Africa Name Senmaya, Mokoena In 65-Man Preliminary Squad

A full-strength Preliminary Team has been unveiled by Athletics South Africa (ASA) for the 2018 ...