Home » NPL » Women’s League Set Registration Deadline

Women’s League Set Registration Deadline

Written By: SD Reporter

The Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) has reminded all participating teams in the upcoming 2016/17 season of the Friday, March 10 deadline for the completion of registrations.

The deadline for clubs registration affects both the premier league and Pro-League sides.

The commencement date for the new season remains Saturday, March 25 for the top-flights and Saturday, April 08 for the Pro-League teams respectively.

The Chief Operating Officer (COO) of the NWFL, Ayo Abdulrahman said the reminder has become necessary as the new management of the league is not in any mood to entertain any request for a shift in date both for registration as well as the commencement dates for the respective leagues.

“We wish to once again remind the clubs in the two women’s league (Premier League and Pro-League) that the time allowed for them to complete registration for the upcoming season is on or before Friday, March 10, 2017.

“This reminder is necessary and should be adhered to as the new management will not accommodate or entertain any request for an extension of the time frame for registration.

“The new management wants to be a sticker of schedule and time, too. So the reminder serves as a wake up time for those who are used to the old ways of doing things to readjust and align themselves with the new dawn.

“Of course, it is still necessary to reinstate that the various commencement dates assigned to the leagues stay as clearly pencilled down in the communiqué.

“The Premier League will kick-off on Saturday, March 25, 2017 while the Pro-League will commence on Saturday, April 08, 2017.

“We want to state that these dates will be religiously adhered to so that we will meet up with the directive of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) to all the leagues to conclude their respective seasons on or before July 2017.

“The directive is NFF well thought out idea to align and harmonise the nation’s domestic leagues calendars and programmes with those of their European counterparts.

“In fact, it was this directive that guided the NWFL Congress to adopt an abridged league for the 2016/17 season.

“Of course, we have told the stakeholders clearly that the upcoming 2016/17 season will be the last the NWFL will witness an abridged league.

“We are appealing to the clubs to work with the season’s calendars and guidelines so that together we will achieve a laudable success in the upcoming season,” said Abdulrahman.

The NWFL Congress recently ratified a 16-team format abridged league for the 2016/17 season.

The 16-team top-flight will be divided into eight teams for each group made up as follows:

Group A is made up of reigning champions, Rivers Angels, Bayelsa Queens, FC Robo, Sunshine Queens, Heartland Queens, Ibom Angels, Abia Angels and COD Ladies while Group B has Nasarawa Amazons, Delta Queens, Osun Babes, Saadatu Kolo Amazons, Confluence Queens, Adamawa Queens, Pelican Stars and Edo Queens.

The star match of the opening season will be between Bayelsa Queens and Ibom Angels.

A Super Four tournament will be used to determine the eventual champions of the top-flight.


Sharing is caring!

Check Also

Fatau Dauda Eyes Treble With Enyimba

Ghanaian goalkeeper, Fatau Dauda is eyeing a treble-winning feat with his side Enyimba International who ...