Leicester City attacker, Kelechi Iheanacho has received an unexpected source of comfort from a retired referee in his controversial incident of seeing that Watford star, Etienne Capoue got a red card last weekend.
Iheanacho innocently told Nigerian pal, Isaac Success that Capou’s tackle on him had not made any contact, only for The Hornets to use that statement in an appeal against the red card.
Watford coach, Javi Gracia confirmed the appeal against the red card awarded Capoue, who faces a three-game ban if it is unsuccessful.
However, while Iheanacho and Success could get a cold relationship over the matter, a former ref has declared that Capoue was rightly sent off in the closing minutes of Watford’s 2-0 loss to Leicester at King Power Stadium on Saturday.
Assessing major decisions in matches last weekend, the ex-ref, Dermot Gallagher gave Iheanacho some respite, as he explained how Graham Scott made the right call in sending off the Frenchman.
The former match arbiter hinted that the expulsion was mostly as a result of ‘intention,’ not actual contact, but said it is in order.
Gallagher said: ”I think it’s a red. He goes in with studs showing and goes through him and Iheanacho’s boots are planted.”