RENNES, FRANCE - JUNE 17: Chiamaka Nnadozie, goalkeeper of Nigeria reacts during the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup France group A match between Nigeria and France at Roazhon Park on June 17, 2019 in Rennes, France. (Photo by Martin Rose/Getty Images)

Nnadozie Leads 17 Others To 2019 Africa Games

Rivers Angels of Port Harcourt goalkeeper, Chiamaka Nnadozie is at the head of a list of 18 players invited to the Nigerian female youth national team, Falconets’ camp, ahead of this month’s Africa Games in Morocco, but her focus might be distracted by a simultaneous invitation to the senior squad, Super Falcons for the Tokyo Olympics qualifiers.

Although Nnadozie was also invited to the Falcons on the same day, Falconets’ coach, Christopher Danjuma named her top of his list for the women’s football tournament of the 12th Africa Games scheduled to hold in Rabat, Morocco from 17th to 29th August.

Named alongside Nnadozie are Joy Duru, Folashade Ijamilusi, Bashirat Amoo, Akudo Ogbonna and Christiana Obia in the U20 squad that will battle Cameroon, South Africa and Zambia in Group B, while host nation Morocco, Equatorial Guinea, Mali and Algeria are in Group A.

The Falconets are scheduled to depart Nigeria on Tuesday for Morocco, where their first match will be against South Africa at Stade Academie Mohammed VI next Sunday, August 19th at 9pm.

They will afterwards keep a date with Cameroon at the same venue and time on Wednesday, 21st August before rounding off their group phase campaign against Zambia at Stade Boubker Ammar-Sale on Saturday, 24th August starting 8pm Nigeria time.

Nigeria won the women’s football gold medal of the 8th Africa Games that the country hosted in October 2003, a feat they repeated in Algiers four years later, but failed to qualify for the 10th edition in Maputo in 2011 before finishing fourth in Brazzaville, Congo in 2015.

Danjuma’s full list has Udukobong Peter (from Ibom Angels), Bashirat Amoo (Confluence Queens), Joy Duru (Nasarawa Amazons), Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels), Gift Monday (FC Robo), Grace Igboamalu (Nasarawa Amazons), Folashade Ijamilusi (FC Robo); Dooshima Tarnum (Nasarawa Amazons) and Zainab Olapade (Sunshine Queens).

Also listed are Esther Momoh (Confluence Queens), Rebecca Ajimuda (Edo Queens), Akudo Ogbonna (Sunshine Queens), Catherine Kenneth (Rivers Angels), Patricia Innocent (Sunshine Queens), Christiana Obia (Osun Babes), Cynthia Aku (Rivers Angels), Omowunmi Oshobukola (Sunshine Queens) and Precious Christopher (Confluence Queens).

Check Also

NBBF Constitution reigns supreme ahead of election

The Nigerian Basketball Federation has again reiterated that its 2019 constitution will be followed to …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *