Bayelsa Queens Begin Quest For Honour As CAF Women’s Champions League Kicks Off

The second edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League kicks off in Marrakech, Morocco with the qualified teams ready to rumble.

The competition was conceived by the African soccer governing under the auspices of former President Ahmad Ahmad but it finally took off in 2021 under the leadership of new president Patrice Motsepe.

Eight teams qualified from each region undergoing a regional tournament and are already in Morocco for the main tournament.

The teams have been placed into 2 groups of 4 teams and two teams will qualify for the semi-final as it progresses.

Nigeria’s champion Bayelsa Queens is among the teams that will be eyeing silverware in Morocco.

After emerging as the champion in the Nigeria Women’s Football League and they proceed to Ivory Coast where they also clinched the title.

The competition will commence at the Stade De Prince Heritier Moulay El Hassan Rabat Stadium and the opening game will be between Green Buffaloes (Zambia) FC and Determines Girl ( Liberia) before Simba Queens ( Tanzania) will face AS FAR Ladies ( Morocco).

Bayelsa Queens will begin their quest for honour on Monday when they file out against the tournament defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa.

TP Mazembe ( DR Congo) will tackle Wadi Degla of Egypt later in the day to complete matchday one of the competition.

Related posts

Four more Premier League games postponed over COVID-19

Agency Report

Eric Bailly joins Marseille on a season-long loan

SD Reporter

Philip Onyemah Hangs His Boots In Portugal

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Verified by MonsterInsights