Falcons’ Camp Reopens This Sunday In Abuja

The female national team, Super Falcons will return to camp this Sunday in Abuja, to commence preparations for the second round of the African qualifying series of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games’ women’s football tournament.

A total of 30 home-based players have been invited to the Falcons’ camp, with all the lasses expected to arrive on Sunday to kick-start preparations for the clash against Cote d’Ivoire, before which seven overseas-based professionals will join the group of Nigerian domestic league stars on the trip to Abidjan for the first leg on September 30.

Asisat Oshoala, scorer of the lone goal against Algeria in Lagos on 3rd September, heads the list of the overseas-based professionals that also includes defenders Osinachi Ohale and Chidinma Okeke, midfielders Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene and Chinaza Uchendu, and forwards Francisca Ordega and Rasheedat Ajibade, who will later link up with the 30 home-based players.

All invited home-based players are expected to arrive at the Chida Hotel, Abuja on Sunday, 15th September, in a roster that is topped by three goalkeepers: Christy Ohiaeriaku (Delta Queens); Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Bayelsa Queens); and Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels).

Defenders in the roster are: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Opeyemi Sunday (Sunshine Queens); Abidemi Ibe (Bayelsa Queens); Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons); Margaret Etim (Rivers Angels); Maryam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons); Mary Ologbosere (Rivers Angels); Blessing Edoho (Ibom Angels); and Tosin Dimeyin (Sunshine Queens).

The midfielders are Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens); Ihuoma Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens); Folashade Ijamilusi (FC Robo); Suliat Abideen (Sunshine Queens); Josephine Mathias (Rivers Angels); Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Regina Otu (Edo Queens); and Cecilia Nku (Rivers Angels).

All forwards called up are: Adejoke Ejalonibu (Nasarawa Amazons); Rafiat Sule (Rivers Angels); Tessy Biahwo (Bayelsa Queens); Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels); Aloko Abdulkareem (Nasarawa Amazons); Gift Monday (FC Robo); Lola Philips (Nasarawa Amazons); Titilayo Aweda (Confluence Queens); and Cynthia Aku (Rivers Angels).

Players invited from abroad are Rasheedat Ajibade (Avaldsnes, Norway); Osinachi Ohale (CD Tacon, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna DFF, Sweden); Francisca Ordega (Shanghai Zyhongyuan, China); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); and Chidinma Okeke (Madrid CFF, Spain).

Already, world football –governing body, FIFA has directed that both legs of the qualifying fixture must be concluded between 30th September and 8th October against the Ivoriens, who emerged 3-0 aggregate winners over Mali, to set up a clash with nine-time African champions Nigeria

Nigeria Football Federation has already picked Sunday, 6th October for the return leg at Agege Stadium, Lagos, which also hosted the return leg of Nigeria/Algeria in the earlier round, with the Falcons winning by a lone goal to push out the Algerians on a 3-0 aggregate.

Related posts

Olympic Eagles Maul Sudan 5-0

SD Reporter

Liverpool midfielder Thiago desperate for FA Cup glory

SD Reporter

EPL: You’re not special case, take Southampton job – Liverpool legend, Nicol slams Klopp

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More