FIFA U-17 World Cup draw to hold Sept 15 without Nigeria

For the first time, 2023 FIFA U17 World Cup draw will hold on September 15th, 2023, in Zurich without Nigeria – one of the best teams that crashed out in the qualifiers.

After winning the West African Football Union U17 tournament, Nduka Ugbade led team couldn’t pick the World Cup ticket at the CAF U17 African Cup of Nations.

The West African country, Nigeria, won the inaugural edition in 1985 and has gone ahead to win in four extra occasions to become one of the most successful nations in the tournament’s history, with five titles and further three appearances in the finals which they lost.

The tournament, billed for Indonesia will be contested by the following teams – Argentina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Canada, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Indonesia, IR Iran, Japan, Korea Republic, Mali, Mexico, Morocco, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Panama, Poland, Senegal, Spain, USA, Uzbekistan and Venezuela.

The 24 nations will be drawn into six groups of four. The teams have been split into four pots, with one team from each pot to be drawn into each group. Teams have been allocated into pots based on a points system determined by their performance at the past five editions of the FIFA U‑17 World Cup, with the nations that won their respective confederation’s qualifying tournament awarded five bonus points.

Read Also: SPOCS Scouting Tournament Get October 2 Kickoff Date

Indonesia has automatically been placed into Pot 1 as the tournament host. FIFA’s general principle is to ensure that no group has more than one team from the same confederation drawn into it.

The draw will be conducted by FIFA Director of Tournaments Jaime Yarza, with former FIFA U‑17 World Cup winner Stephen Appiah and Júlio César, who featured in the final of the 1995 edition, to act as assistants.

The pots are as follows:

Pot 1: Indonesia, Brazil, Mexico, France, Spain, Japan

Pot 2: Germany, Mali, England, Korea Republic, Argentina, Ecuador

Pot 3: New Zealand, IR Iran, Senegal, USA, Uzbekistan, Morocco

Pot 4: Canada, New Caledonia, Panama, Venezuela, Poland, Burkina Faso.

Related posts

Bayelsa know opponent in CAF Women’s Champions League qualifiers

Wale Gbadebo

Sadio Mane facing Bayern Munich axe after dressing room altercation

Wale Gbadebo

EPL: Beat Liverpool 4-0 – Guardiola begs Southampton after Man City’s setback

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More