SportsDay - Africa's Elite Sports Daily
A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

John Owan Enoh steps in as 36th Sports Minister

0 19

- Advertisement -

Former Governorship aspirant under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Cross River State  Senator John Owan Enoh has been named Minister of Sports Development by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.  He thus becomes the 36th Minister of Sports taking over from Sunday Dare who held the position under former President Buhari.

The new sports minister was a senator representing the Central Senatorial District of Cross River State in the 8th assembly that ran from 2015 to 2019.

He was a member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) until May 2017 when he decamped to the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC)

He contested the governorship position but lost to Ben Ayade.

- Advertisement -

Apart from politics, Enoh own numerous farms where he conducts arable and livestock production.

Farming venture he started 2000 has as at 2021 since cultivated about 2000 hectares of cultivated lands.

Enoh according to available information, operates an out-grower scheme in communities where his farms are located. The out-grower scheme is a corporate social responsibility scheme that empowers local small scale farmers with arable and livestock to grow in their farms and later provides them with the market to sell these products.

Part of his philanthropic effort is floating a foundation tagged JOE (John Owan Enoh) Foundation where he provides help for people living with diabetes in Nigeria.

- Advertisement -

New Minister of sports development John Owan Enoh

By his designation the new sports minister has his job cut out for him as Minister of Sports Development. In the past the ministry had been combined with youth development but now the Youth Ministry is to be handled by Abubakar Momoh .

List of Previous Sports Ministers

Sunday Dare (2019-2023)

- Advertisement -

Solomon Dalung            (2015 – 2019)

Tamuno Danagogo         (2014 – 2015

Bolaji Abdulahi             (2011-2014)

Yusuf Suleiman            (2011-2011)

Taoheed Adedoja           (2010 – 2011)

Ibrahim Isa Bio             (2010- 2010)

Sani Ndanusa               (2008-2010)

Abdurahaman Gimba     (2007 -2008)

- Advertisement -

Bala Bawa Ka’oje           (2006 -2007)

Saidu Sambawa             (2005-2006)

Musa Mohammed          (2003-2005)

Stephen Akiga               (2002-2003)

Ishaya Mark Aku           (2001-2002)

Damishi Sango             (1999-2001)

Emeka Omeruah           (1997 –1999)* 2ndtenure

Jim Nwobodo                (1995-1997)

Shola Rhodes               (1994- 1995)

Sylvanus Akinwunmi     (1993 -1994)

Alex Akinyele                 (1992 -1993)

Yohana Kure                 1991-1992)

Anthony Ikazoboh            (1990-1991)

Alabo Graham Douglas  (1989-1990)

Bayo Lawal                   (1986-1988)

Ahmed  Abdulahi           (1985-1986)

Emeka Omeruah           (1984-1985)

Bennett Birabi              (1983-1983)

Buba Ahmed                 (1983-1983)

Adebisi Ogedengbe        (1982-1983)

Paulinus Amadike          (1979 -1981)

Dan Isokrari                 (1977-1978)

Olufemi Olutoye            (1975-1977)

Henry Adefope              (1971-1975)

J.C. Obande                      (1965-1971)

Joseph Modupe Johnson         (1960-1964)

- Advertisement -

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More