NFF Invite 8 Home-based Female Players, 19 Others

Nigeria’s female national team, Super Falcons’ coach, Thomas Dennerby has invited eight home based players, alongside 19 from overseas to his final training camp ahead of next month’s FIFA Women’s World Cup.

 Details of the the Swedish tactician’s provisional list for France 2019 indicate that five of the players currently lining out for the B-squad at the West African Football Union (WAFU) Women’s Cup of Nations in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire will join the foreign legion at the base in Austria.

 The home lasses, among whom are four goalkeepers, will be led by Uchenna Kanu, who scored five goals in the 15-0 drubbing of Niger Republic on Saturday and has shown great potentials at the ongoing WAFU Women’s Cup in Abidjan.

 Kanu’s haul of eight goals in two matches stands her out, and she will lead the array of Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) stars, which includes Amarachi Okoronkwo, Evelyn Nwabuoku, Chidinma Okeke and Chiamaka Nnadozie in search of shirts to France 2019.

 Also set top gun for spots in the final squad to the 8th Female Mundial, which will hold from 7th June to 7th July, are Onome Ebi, Ngozi Okobi and Desire Oparanozie, in a list of 27 players Dennerby has listed for the final camp in Austria later this month.

 They will be joined by veteran goalkeeper Tochukwu Oluehi, defenders Josephine Chukwunonye, Osinachi Ohale and Ngozi Ebere, midfielders Rita Chikwelu and Halimatu Ayinde as well as forwards Asisat Oshoala and Francisca Ordega.

 Dennerby’s final list of 23 players for the global fiesta will emerge from this group of 27, with four players to be dropped towards the end of the team’s two-week camping sojourn in Austria.

 Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) head of women department, Ruth David said the African champions will depart from Abuja for Avita Resort in Bad Tatzmannsdorf, Austria next Monday, 20th May.

 After their spell at the same base that the Super Eagles used before going to Russia 2018 World Cup, the Falcons will depart Austria on 4th June direct to Reims, France, where they open their World Cup campaign against Norway on 8th June.

 Dennerby’s full list has four goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Alaba Jonathan (Bayelsa Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels); and Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens).

 Also listed are six defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Ngozi Ebere (Arna Bjornar, Norway); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Josephine Chukwunonye (Kungsbacka DFF, Sweden); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); and Chidinma Okeke (FC Robo).

 The list also has seven midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons), Cecilia Nku (Ferencvaros Torna, Hungary); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskiltuna United, Sweden); Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskiltuna United, Sweden); and Ogonna Chukwudi (Djurgardens IF, Sweden).

 Also called-up up are ten forwards, among whom are: Chinwendu Ihezuo (Henana Huisanhang, China), Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Anam Imo (Malmo FC Rosengard, Sweden); and Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain).

 Others are: Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Uchenna Kanu (South Eastern University, USA); Rasheedat Ajibade (Alvadsnes IL, Norway); Francisca Ordega (Shanghai W. FC); Ini-Abasi Umotong (Brighton Hove & Albion, England); and Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels).

Related posts

Samuel Eto’o Son Get Cameroon U-17 Call UP

SD Reporter

Serie A: Osimhen named U-23 Player of the Season

SD Reporter

Super Falcons boss, Waldrum apologizes to Nigerian journalists over negative comment

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More