Nigeria lose AFCON hosting as Kenya, Uganda get nod

Confederation of African Football (CAF) Executive Council members awarded the 2027 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) hosting right to Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania, thus pushing aside Nigeria and Benin Republic who had been jostling to host the event.

Nigeria last hosted the Nations in 2000 when she co-hosted with West African sister country Ghana.

The decision to award the right to the three countries as co-host took place in Cairo, Egypt, on Wednesday.

This is the first time ever Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania will emerge as host of the Continental tournament.

Read Also: Championship: Iheanacho focuses on Leicester City return to Premier League

In 1980 Nigeria was awarded the hosting right of the AFCON and went on to emerge champions.

Earlier on Wednesday, the Executive Council members announced Morocco as host of the 2025 AFCON edition.

This will be the second time Morocco would be staging the AFCON, after first doing so in 1988.

Morocco polled 22 votes to beat off Nigeria and Algeria who did not get any vote.

Côte d’Ivoire will host the 2023 edition which will kickoff in January 2024.

The first time the tournament was held in Côte d’Ivoire was in 1984 which was won by Cameroon.

Related posts

Niger United, Safety Babes Are Champions Of Ardova Handball Premier League

Our Reporter

#100DaysinOffice: Towards Addressing Doping Violations in Nigerian Sports: The “Enoh-mous Effect”

Our Reporter

Gusau promises NFF support for futsal, beach soccer

Our Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More