No Nigerian, As 55 Are Announced For  FIFA/ FIFPro Women’s World11

  • First time that FIFA and FIFPro have combined for Women’s World11
  • Thousands of professional players voted around the globe

No Nigerian woman football player was found worthy to be on the list of 55 players nominated for the maiden FIFA/Fifpro Women’s World 11 2019. Nigeria has dominated African Women’s football since inception, winning most of  the continental trophies and has been to most of the FIFA organized championships.

But history made made Wednesday as the 55 names for the inaugural FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11 have been revealed. The World11 is decided by the players, for the players and involves votes from thousands of professional footballers from across the globe, with each player selecting one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three Forwards.

The 55 players represent 16 nationalities across four confederations, with the USA (14) the most-represented nation, ahead of England, Netherlands (seven each) and France (six). The candidates ply their trade at a remarkable 24 different club sides, with an incredible 13 current Olympique Lyonnais players in the running to make the final World11.

FIFPro and its national affiliates are responsible for gathering votes from professional footballers worldwide. The rules of allocation explain the voting procedure, with the World11 votes based on the players’ performances between 16 July 2018 and 19 July 2019 inclusive.

The 55 players selected *

Goalkeepers (5)

Sarah Bouhaddi (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Christiane Endler (CHI) – Paris Saint-Germain

Hedvig Lindahl (SWE) – Chelsea / VfL Wolfsburg

Alyssa Naeher (USA) – Chicago Red Stars

Sari van Veenendaal (NED) – Arsenal / Atletico Madrid

Defenders (20)

Millie Bright (ENG) – Chelsea

Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais

Kadeisha Buchanan (CAN) – Olympique Lyonnais

Abby Dahlkemper (USA) – North Carolina Courage

Crystal Dunn (USA) – North Carolina Courage

Nilla Fischer (SWE) – Linkopings

Sara Gama (ITA) – Juventus

Alex Greenwood (ENG) – Manchester United / Olympique Lyonnais

Steph Houghton (ENG) – Manchester City

Ali Krieger (USA) – Orlando Pride

Saki Kumagai (JPN) – Olympique Lyonnais

Amel Majri (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Griedge Mbock (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Maren Mjelde (NOR) – Chelsea

Kelley O’Hara (USA) – Utah Royals

Wendie Renard (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Michelle Romero (VEN) – Deportivo La Coruna

Camila Saez (CHI) – Rayo Vallecano

Becky Sauerbrunn (USA) – Utah Royals

Stefanie van der Gragt (NED) – FC Barcelona

Midfielders (15)

Andressa Alves (BRA) – AS Roma

Kosovare Asllani (SWE) – CD Tacon

Sara Daebritz (GER) – Paris Saint-Germain

Julie Ertz (USA) – Chicago Red Stars

Formiga (BRA) – Paris Saint-Germain

Jackie Groenen (NED) – FFC Frankfurt / Manchester United

Amandine Henry (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Lindsey Horan (USA) – Portland Thorns

Rose Lavelle (USA) – Washington Spirit

Carli Lloyd (USA) – Sky Blue

Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER) – Olympique Lyonnais

Samantha Mewis (USA) – North Carolina Courage

Sherida Spitse (NED) – Valerenga

Danielle van de Donk (NED) – Arsenal

Keira Walsh (ENG) – Manchester City

Forwards (15)

Oriana Altuve (VEN) – Rayo Vallecano

Caroline Graham Hansen (NOR) – FC Barcelona

Pernille Harder (DEN) – VfL Wolfsburg

Tobin Heath (USA) – Portland Thorns

Ada Hegerberg (NOR) – Olympique Lyonnais

Jennifer Hermoso (ESP) – Atletico Madrid / FC Barcelona

Sam Kerr (AUS) – Chicago Red Stars

Eugenie Le Sommer (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Marta (BRA) – Orlando Pride

Lieke Martens (NED) – FC Barcelona

Vivianne Miedema (NED) – Arsenal

Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride

Nikita Parris (ENG) – Manchester City / Olympique Lyonnais

Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC

Ellen White (ENG) – Birmingham City / Manchester City

The final FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11 2019 will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ ceremony at the Teatro alla Scala on Monday 23 September. During the ceremony, the FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11, The Best FIFA Men’s Player and Coach, The Best FIFA Women’s Player and Coach, The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Goalkeeper, the FIFA Puskás Award, the FIFA Fan Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award for 2019 will all also be presented.

Related posts

AFCON 2021: Samuel Eto reacts as Senegal wins tournament

SD Reporter

Ola Aina’s Value Escalates Beyond €600,000 Fee

SD Reporter

Ten Countries Set To Participate In 2019 Africa Cup Track Cycling

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More