NOC Election 2022: Ibrahim Gusau, Sunday Adeleye, Solomon Ogba top list of contestants

Former President of the Athletics Federation of Nigeria, AFN, Engr Ibrahim Shehu Gusau and the federation’s former technical director, Sunday Adeleye are eyeing positions in the Nigeria Olympic Committee board after losing the battle to return as executive board members of the AFN in June 2021.

Gusau, who is still contesting in court his non-recognition by both the AFN congress and World Athletics after his kangaroo elections in Kebbi state tops the list of contestants the Electoral Committee released Wednesday that met the 6th December, 2022, 12pm submission deadline.

Also confirmed is another former President of the AFN, chief Solomon Ogba, Wrestling Federation president, Daniel Igali as well as the incumbenmt NOC president, Engr. Habu Ahmed Gumel of Volleyball Federation.

The nomination list for the office of the President includes Gumel, Engineer Sani Ndanusa of Tennis Federation and Gusau.

Chief Ogba of Bobsled & Skeleton and Barrister Francis Orbih, Badminton made the nominations list for the office of 1st vice President, while Engineer Ishaku Tikon of Table Tennis Federation picked the 2nd Vice President form.

Meanwhile, Igali, Comm. Bamidele O. Ayoade, Shooting Federation, Mr Olumide Oyedeji, the Athletes Representative and Mrs Maria Wophill of Athletics Federation picked the nomination forms for 3rd Vice President.

For the position of the 4th Vice President, Mrs Hauwa-Kulu Akinyemi of Table Tennis will battle it out with Air Commodore Rahinatu Garba of Shooting, Mrs Olabisi Joseph of School Sports Federation, Mrs Rosaline Collins Okah of AFN and Ms Nneka Ikem of Curling Federation.

With the incumbent Secretary General, Banji Oladapo not contesting, former Secretary General, Tunde Popoola of Hockey Federation is bidding for a return but will have to fight it out with chief Jonathan Nnaji of Taekwondo, Dr (Mrs) Esther Toyin Aluko, Handball and Mr Samuel Adeyinka of Nigeria Fencing.

Hon Bappa Aliyu of Modern Pentathlon and Engineer Musa Kida of Basketball and Mr Sunday Adeleye of Athletics submitted their nomination forms for Treasurer while for the Public Relations Officer, Mr Oluphemmy Adetula of Fencing Federation, Mr Tony Obiora Nezianya of Triathlon and Mr Patrick Ibeh submitted their nomination forms.

However, the Electoral Committee will meet to review and take final decision on the nominations.

Related posts

AFCON 2023 Qualifier: Sierra Leone boss unveils squad for Super Eagles, Guinea Bissau games

SD Reporter

World’s most valuable football players: Mbappe beats Vinicius, Haaland, others [Top 10]

SD Reporter

Champions League: Salah reacts to Liverpool’s defeat against Inter Milan

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More