Team Nigeria Off To 2019 IAAF World Championship

Nigeria’s track and field contingent will this Saturday depart the shores of the country for Doha, Qatar, where they will take part in this year’s IAAF World Athletics Championships.

Ahead of Saturday’s trip, the Athletics Federation of Nigeria reeled out a 25-member team list, consisting of athletes and coaches to represent the country at the championships, which will hold from this Friday, September 27 to Sunday, October 6.

The team comprises 100 and 200m National Collegiate Association of America (NCAA) double champion, Divine Oduduru, all African Games gold medalist, Raymond Ekevwo, and Blessing Okagbare.

To compete for the men’s 100 metre event are, Oduduru, Ekevwo and Itsekiri Usheoritse, while Emmanuel Arowolo and Oduduru will represent the country in the men’s 200m event.

Okagbare is the country’s sole representative in the women’s 100 and 200m, while current national champion, Patience Okon, and African Games silver medalist female quartermiler, Favour Ofili will represent the country in the women’s 400m event.

African and Commonwealth Games’ gold medalist, Tobiloba Amusan will feature in the women’s 100m hurdles while Rilwan Alowonle and Edose Ibadin will feature in the men’s 400m hurdle and 800m events respectively.

For field events, Africa Games gold medalists, Chukwuebuka Enekwechi and Oyesade Olatoye are in for the men and women’s short-put events respectively while African champion, Chioma Onyekwere will feature in the women’s discus and another gold medalist, Ese Brume will be in the women’s long jump.

Listed for the men’s relays are Enoch Adegoke, Ogho-Oghene, Seye Ogunlewe, Divine Oduduru, Itsekiri Usheoritse, Arowolo Emmanuel as well as Raymond Ekevwo who will all participate in the 4x100m.

Rosemary Chukwuma, Bukola Jasper, Ntia-Obong Mercy, Joy Udo-Gabriel, and Blessing Ogundiran will run in the female 4x100m, while Patience George Okon, Favour Ofili, Blessing Oladoye, Abike Egbeniyi, and Blessing Ovwighoa-Jabre will feature in the female 4x400m.

The coaches’ team led by the AFN Technical Director, Sunday Omotayo Adeleye includes Gabriel Okon, Kayode Yaya, Ogunkoya Seun Micheal, Endurance Teye, Opuana Gabriel and Soetan Olalekan Stephen.

Related posts

World Athletics Championships: Sydney McLaughlin smashes her own 400m hurdles World Record to win gold

SD Reporter

Godson Brume Named SEC Freshman Athlete Of The Week

SD Reporter

Brume eyes historic medal as World Indoor Championships begin in Belgrade

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More