SportsDay - Africa's Elite Sports Daily
A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

CAF hails Stanley Nwabali despite missing G/keeper of the tournament award

0 24

- Advertisement -

The Confederation of African Football (CAF), has sent a message of encouragement to Super Eagles of Nigeria goalkeeper, Stanley Nwabali after the Eagles failed in their bid to lift the 2023 AFCON title on Sunday.

Stanley Nwabali was one of the brightest stars in the Super Eagles’ 2023 AFCON squad though he wasn’t a prominent member of the team before the commercement of the tournament.

In the group stage of the tournament, the 27-year-old Nwabali who is currently contracted to Chippa United of South Africa conceded just a goal in three games.

The former Enyimba of Aba goalkeeper continued with his prolific form in the knockout stages of the competition as he kept a clean sheet against Cameroon in the round of 16, and against Angola in the quarter-finals.

- Advertisement -

Eagles defender William Troost Ekong with SA goalie Williams and Nsue of Eq. Guinea

In the semi-final clash between South Africa and the Super Eagles of Nigeria, Stanley Nwabali was the player of the match as he saved two spot-kicks during the penalty shootout which the Eagles won 4-2 on penalties.

Despite his efforts in the final, Nwabali couldn’t save Nigeria all through as he conceded two goals in the second half of the encounter. The two goals were all the Ivorians needed to win the 2023 AFCON title with a 2-1 scoreline.

Read Also: Boxing: Joshua Ready For Huge Fight Says Hearn

- Advertisement -

Aside from missing out on the opportunity of winning the 2023 AFCON, he also failed to win the goalkeeper of the tournament. The award was given to South African goalkeeper, Ronwen Williams. Nwabali has received accolades from far and wide for his confidence and efforts all through the tournament despite defeat in Sunday’s final.

In a way of appreciating goalkeeper Stanley Nwabali, CAF wrote on its official X page: “Maybe it’s the end of the competition, but not the end of the story!

“Heads up, Nwabali. #TotalEnergiesAFCON2023Final.”

Best Goalkeeper award went to South Africa’s Ronwen Williams (South Africa). Other awards and their winners are as follows:

- Advertisement -

Fair Play Team Award – South Africa

Golden Boot Winner – Emilio Nsue (Equatorial Guinea, 5 goals)

Golden Ball – William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria)

Best Young Player Award – Simon Adingra (Ivory Coast)

- Advertisement -

Best Coach Award – Emerse Faé (Ivory Coast)

- Advertisement -

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More