EPL: Man City’s Haaland, Chelsea’s striker win Footballer of Year award

Manchester City’s goal king, Erling Haaland has been voted the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year.

Chelsea’s Women striker Sam Kerr also received the women’s award.

The 22-year-old Haaland has had an outstanding first season at the Etihad Stadium with 51 goals in his basket from all competitions.

Manchester City is in the semi-finals of the Champions League and the final of the FA Cup while also leading the Premier League table with just four games to the end of the season.

All these were achievable through Haaland’s terrific display.

The goal scorer got 82 percent of the FWA vote, with Arsenal duo Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard coming behind.

Australia and Chelsea striker Kerr, 29, has won the women’s Footballer of the Year award for the second successive season, with Aston Villa’s Rachel Daly and Chelsea team-mate Lauren James completing the top three.

Kerr has found the back of the net 26 times in 34 appearances for the Blues this season.

Haaland and Kerr are set to receive their awards at the FWA Footballer of the Year 75th anniversary dinner in London on May 25.

Related posts

Commonwealth games 2022: Taiwo Laidi Wins silver in Weightlifting

AFN Suspends Kwara State Athletics Association For Associating With A Banned Coach

Wale Gbadebo

Man City headlines Top 20 richest soccer clubs in the world

Adewale Gbadebo

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More