Medallists emerge in Cadet, Youth & Junior 100m & 400m at MTN CHAMPS Ibadan

The finals of several events were concluded on Day 2 of MTN CHAMPS Ibadan, throwing up potential stars who set the track and field of the Lekan Salami Stadium alight with their inspiring performances in the 100m and 400m across all three age categories, as well as some field events.

Mariam Jegede clocked a lifetime best of 12.02s in the semis of the Youth Girls 100m, eventually storming to GOLD ahead of Kehinde Okunola and Ayomide Omotosho, both of Apata Ajele Community School.

In the Youth Boys 100m, Kehinde Ifeoluwa Ojo inspired a 1-3 for Best Legacy International School, while Emmanuel Oyetunde of Cornerstone Group took the Silver, while Abdulqudus Ajibona settled for Bronze.

Aishat Abiodun Muraina emerged the fastest girl in the Cadet category, storming to a new PB of 13.16s to strike GOLD for Best Legacy International ahead Olivet Baptist School’s duo of Alimat Qasim and Precious Ayeniyi.

Olamilekan Oladapo of Asegun Comprehensive was the fastest boy in the same category, crossing the line first ahead of Joel Timilehin and Olusodo Isreal of Fortress College.

It was a 1-2-3 for Altivelis in the Girls’ 100m Juniors as Tunmininu Sanyaolu led the way for teammates Mary Adediran and Ifeoluwa Owolabi. Adediran would then upgrade to GOLD in the Long Jump.

Aina Precious Oluwakoye of Kwara State was the fastest Junior boy. He was followed by Oluwademilade Ajayi and Kabitu Muhammed respectively.

Brightville College claimed a GOLD Medal in the Cadet Girls 400m courtesy of Peace Ogundeji who was the Girl to beat in the event. Adesolape Adeniyi of Agege Government College and Omolara Adekunle of Abonde Community Grammar placed 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Samson Alabi did Apata Ajele Community proud in the Cadet Boys 400m, out-dipping Samuel Adeboola of Oba Akinbiyi High School and Idowu Adebayo of Zumuratul Hujaj Community respectively.

Taiye Okunola, Progress Eribo and Ojonla Islamiat were the Top 3 finishers in the Youth Girls’ 400m while Stephen Adejumo of Olivet Baptist, Jamal Adeniran (Cornerstone Group) and Abdulqudus Abdulmojeed (Eleyele Jericho High) finished in the same positions in the Boys race.

Eniola Shiro of No Sweat Athletics Club was the Junior Boys 400m Champion, with Emmanuel Omotosho of Kwara State University and Abeeb Oyekanmi taking 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Ruqqayah Kemi Mustapha dominated the Junior Girls Shot put and Discus events. She was followed by Favour Osagie and Suliyat Oyewumi respectively.

Titilayo Adebayo of Queen of Apostles won the Youth Girls Discus title ahead of Mary Kolawale of Oluyoro Grammar and Alimat Sadiq Ibadan Grammar, Molete.

More than 150 schools and teams are competing at MTN CHAMPS Ibadan, with entries received from 2000 Athletes. The competition enters its final day on Saturday, November 11th, 2023.

Related posts

Sports Minister Holds Meeting with NFF, Peseiro Over AFCON Plans

Our Reporter

13th Women AFCON: Super Falcons land in Morocco in style!

Our Reporter

Boniface eyes AFCON debut with Super Eagles

Our Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More