Sports Ministry Inaugurates Board Members Of Paralympic Committee

Nigerian Sports Minister Sunday Dare (C), with newly elected Board Members of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN), at the Steven Keshi Stadium in Asaba, Delta State, Nigeria.

Nigeria’s Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare, has inaugurated the newly elected Board Members of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN), with a charge to ensure inclusiveness for the purpose of maintaining podium performances in all competitions across the globe.

During the inauguration ceremony, which was held on Tuesday at the Steven Keshi Stadium in Asaba, Delta State, Dare expressed optimism that with the calibre of Members elected, Nigeria is sure to record more accolades through its paralympians.

According to the Sports Minister, Para-Sports is one of the games that has lifted the nation’s flag high in global events and as such, the athletes need encouragement and support to enhance their performances.

Dare therefore called on the new Board to bring their wealth of experience and knowledge to bear in ensuring a proper administration of the sporting activities of Paralympians in the country.

While congratulating the new Board Members on their election, he thanked the Delta State Government for agreeing to host the Congress.

Speaking earlier, the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, Ismaila Abubakar assured the new Board Members that the Ministry will continue to provide an enabling environment for the realisation of the present Administration’s policy as it affects Paralympians.

Represented by the Director, Federation, Elites and Athletes Development (FEAD), Dr Simon Ebhojaiye, the Permanent Secretary therefore charged them to justify the confidence reposed on them by the electorate and members.

Responding, the newly elected President, Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN), Odebode Sunday, assured that under their tenure, Nigeria is sure to witness more podium appearances from the athletes.

The Newly elected Board Members of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN) are as follows;

Odebode Sunday – President

Shodipo Ayinde – 1st Vice President

Ugwunwa Flora – 2nd VP & Female Athlete Representative

Isah Suleiman – Secretary General

Agbado Douglas – Asst. Secretary General

Ettington Rafiu Olawale – Treasurer

Asaba Pius Idowu – South West

North East – Suspended

Ezeikpe Chinedu – South East

Adisa Lukman Abefe – North Central

Bungon Dauda – North West.

Related posts

Court restrains Bash Ali, barred from defaming sports minister

SD Reporter

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup: Nike Unveils Super Falcons Kits

SD Reporter

EPL: Sell Ronaldo now, Murphy urges Man Utd

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More