World Cup: Canada unveils squad against Nigeria, others

Canada has announced the official squad that will represent the nation at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023.

Coming off their historic Gold Medal at the Tokyo Olympic Games in 2021, Canada are ready to climb a new summit as one of 32 nations competing in the sport’s biggest event from 20 July to 20 August 2023.

Led by Head Coach Bev Priestman and captain Christine Sinclair, there are 23 players that will wear Canada’s badge in their collective effort to return to the top of global football, this time at the world’s largest women’s single-sport event, hosted in Australia and New Zealand. It all gets underway on Thursday 20 July in Canada (Friday 21 July in Australia) when Canada faces the 11-time African champions Nigeria at Melbourne Rectangular Stadium.

“I’m proud to name this dynamic and exciting 23 player roster,” said Bev Priestman, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team Head Coach. “I know every single person has given their all to make this squad. It’s a great mix of veterans, experienced and new players who can all bring something different this summer.”

“I’m naturally devastated for the players who have missed out, especially due to injuries, but I know every player will be with us on our journey and have been pivotal in getting us to this point,” added Priestman.

Leading the group in experience is captain Christine Sinclair, set to participate in her sixth FIFA Women’s World Cup, having scored in all five previous editions. Other veteran players with multiple FIFA Women’s World Cup experiences under their belt include Sophie Schmidt (2007, 2011, 2015, 2019), Allysha Chapman (2015, 2019), Kadeisha Buchanan (2015, 2019), Adriana Leon (2015, 2019), Jessie Fleming (2015, 2019), and Ashley Lawrence (2015, 2019). Simi Awujo, Vanessa Gilles, Cloé Lacasse, Lysianne Proulx, Olivia Smith, and Evelyne Viens will make their World Cup debut at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023™. With an average age of 27 years old, the group features a balanced blend of veterans and fresh faces.

This year marks Canada’s eighth consecutive participation at the FIFA Women’s World Cup, coming off back-to-back appearances in the knockout phase at Canada 2015 (Quarterfinals) and France 2019 (Round of 16). Across Canada, all of the matches will be broadcast live on CTV, TSN and RDS, with extended coverage across Canada Soccer’s digital channels from to Facebook, Instagram, Threads, TikTok, Twitter and Youtube featuring the hashtags #CANWNT and #WECAN.

Beyond their opening match against Nigeria (12.30 local 20 July / 21 July 22.30 ET / 19.30 PT), Canada will face the Republic of Ireland in Perth on Wednesday 26 July (20.00 local / 08.30 ET / 05.30 PT) and then co-hosts Australia back in Melbourne on Monday 31 July (20.00 local / 08.30 ET / 05.30 PT). From Group B, the Round of 16 matches are Monday 7 August (Brisbane or Sydney), the Quarterfinals are Saturday 12 August (Brisbane or Sydney), the Semifinals are Wednesday 16 August (Sydney), and the Final is Sunday 20 August (Sydney).

Related posts

EPL: Ten Hag keeping Man Utd ‘on their toes’ with team selections – Shaw

SD Reporter

Transfer window: Bent confident Arsenal will approach Palace midfielder Olise

SD Reporter

Gusau Optimistic Of Taking Nigeria Football To Greater Heights

Wale Gbadebo

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More