24 Countries Secure Qualification For 2023 AFCON

All 24 countries that will battle it out on the field at the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cote D’Ivoire have sealed qualification for the tournament.

Five-time AFCON champions Cameroon on Tuesday beat Burundi 3-O to complete the star studded list of qualified teams.

A breakdown of the qualified countries shows that 12 former AFCON champions, including three-time champions Nigeria will be on parade come January 2024.

Hosts, Cote d’Ivoire will be leading a strong West African contingent of 11 countries, including holders Senegal, Nigeria, Ghana, Guinea, Burkina Faso among others. Tanzania representing East Africa returns for a second finals after a brave showing in the qualifiers.

The North Africans are represented by seven-time champions Egypt, World Cup semi-finalists Morocco, Tunisia and Algeria. Egypt will be looking for an eighth unprecedented title, having reached two of the last three finals in 2017 and at the 2021 edition.

Read Also: EPL: Guardiola returns to Man City after emergency surgery

There will be no debutants in this edition, as the continent’s football power houses managed to maintain and seal qualification. The 2023 AFCON will take place from January 13th – 11th February, 2024, after it was postponed from it’s original June 2023 date.

Full list of 24 qualified countries are Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire (Hosts) and DR Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique and The Gambia.

Others are Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal (Title Holders), South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia and  Zambia.

Related posts

Transfer: Polish club Wisla Krakow sign Nigerian midfielder

Wale Gbadebo

EPL: Rangnick to meet Ten Hag as Man Utd seek Europa League salvation

SD Reporter

Qatar 2022 fallout: Minister Inaugurates panel over Abuja Stadium vandalization

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More