Volleyball: Naira Rain As Team Hasso Emerge Champions of Female Captain’s Tourney

Team HASSO Women’s Volleyball club on Sunday defeated Team Tanimu to emerge the champions of 2nd edition of Female Captain’s Volleyball Championship at the Jabi Lake Recreation Park, Life Camp Volleyball Court, Abuja, BSN can report.

The champions defeated their opponents 3-2 (25-22, 10-25, 25-22, 25-19, 16-18) in a tight contest.

Speaking after the final game, a national women’s U17 player and Most Valuable Player of the tourney, Chigoziem Nneoma, stated why Team Tanimu lost in the final to Team HASSO, “we lost a bit of concentration, the champions did more of defense which we lack in our team. So, next time we need to combine defense and attacking game.

Also speaking, Amusa Rabiat, Chairperson Planning Committee of the tournament, said, “the tourney is organized to bring female volleyball players together so as to keep playing the game. So far, we have been able to achieve the aim of organising the competition because a lot of players have improved in their game.

She added that the three-day tourney will spur many grassroots players to be invited into the national team.

Obiora Nwora, Director, Life Camp Volleyball Club Abuja, said, “we are doing our best to see that volleyball gets to the level of football in Nigeria. “It also shows that women are actually embracing sports and volleyball in particular and with this, volleyball will be more popular among Nigerians few years to come.

“This will help to develop the sport as you can see some grassroots players competing with those who are national team players. This means that the competition will produce more national team players.

Team General won the Best Third team of the competition.

Meanwhile, Best Setter Award goes to Mary Ishaku of Team HASSO while Best Spiker Award was picked by Lydia Daniel popularly knows as Mangala.

Amara Gabriel won Defender Award as Best Blocker Award goes to Uyoyou Udubrae

Esther Dominic won the Best Server Award.

The runners up, Team Tanimu smiled home with the sum of Seventy thousand naira (N70,000) as prize money for emerging second while the Champions, Team HASSO got One hundred thousand naira (N100,000).

MVP award was won by Chigoziem Nneoma, a former national women’s U17 player.

Related posts

London 2012 Olympics 400m Hurdles: Ajoke Odumosu Upgraded From Eighth To Seventh

SD Reporter

IMC Presents 24 Official Match Balls To All NPFL Teams

Jerome Obuninta

Oregon22: Amusan tipped for medal finish

SD Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More